The eight candidates for four contested Johnson County, Iowa, seats in the Iowa General Assembly have been invited to participate in a candidates forum on Monday, Sept. 10, at 2 p.m. at the Coralville Public Library.

Lyle Muller, executive director and editor of Iowa Center for Public Affairs Journalism – IowaWatch, will moderate the forum, which will be sponsored by the Johnson County Task Force on Aging.

The eight invited candidates are:

House District #73 — Bobby Kaufman (R) – Jodi Clemens (D).

Senate District #37 — Zack Wahls   (D) –  Carl Krambeck (L).

Senate District #39 — Kevin Kinney (D)  –  Heather Hora (R).

Senate District #43 — Joe Bolkcom (D) – Patrick Wronkiewicz (R).

Muller will ask questions but also take questions from the audience, submitted on cards.

Expected topics include: managed care, tax credits, minimum wage, education, child care, workforce issues, mental health, collective bargaining, women’s issues, long-term care ombudsman, elder abuse, home and community services, nursing homes, caregiver support, housing, transportation and what can the state do to prepare for its aging population.

Type of work:

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *